Coalition Applauds Two Important Votes to End Taxpayer-Funded Ethanol Subsidies in the Senate and House

October 24, 2012
Washington, DC

A broad and diverse coalition that includes business associations, taxpayer advocates, hunger and development organizations, agricultural groups, free-market groups, religious organizations, environmental groups, budget hawks, and public interest organizations applauded Congress for two important votes regarding taxpayer-funded subsidies for corn-based ethanol.

 

The Senate voted by an overwhelming majority of 73 to 27 to approve a bipartisan amendment offered by Sens. Tom Coburn (R-OK) and Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) to the Economic Development Revitalization Act that would bring an end, effective July 1, to both the $0.45 per gallon Volumetric Ethanol Excise Tax Credit (VEETC) and the tariff on imported ethanol.

 

The U.S. House of Representatives approved an amendment by Rep. Jeff Flake (R-AZ) that would prohibit the USDA from allocating funds for ethanol infrastructure, including blender pumps and storage facilities. Rep. Flake’s amendment was passed by an enormous majority of 283 to 128. In a clear sign of growing support for ending subsidies for corn-based ethanol, the Flake amendment received 22 more votes than it did when it originally passed the House in February. 

 

The coalition responded to today’s votes:

 

“This is a tremendously important day in our fight to end the taxpayer-funded subsidies for corn-based ethanol.  We applaud Senators Coburn and Feinstein and Representative Flake for their energetic leadership on this vitally important issue.  We look forward to continuing to work with Congress to see that this forward-looking decision becomes law. As a coalition we continue to strongly oppose taxpayer-funded subsidies for corn-based ethanol and welcome today’s votes as the start of a new era for U.S. biofuels policy.”

 

 

Members of the Coalition

 

ActionAid USA

American Bakers Association

Americans for Limited Government

American Frozen Food Institute

American Meat Institute

California Dairies, Inc.

Clean Air Task Force

Defenders of Wildlife

Environmental Working Group

Friends of the Earth

Grocery Manufacturers Association

Milk Producers Council

National Chicken Council

National Council of Chain Restaurants

National Meat Association

National Restaurant Association

National Wildlife Federation

Natural Resources Defense Council

National Turkey Federation

Oxfam America

Snack Food Association

Southeast Milk Inc.

Taxpayers for Common Sense

 

Media Contacts

 

Brendan McLaughlin

brendan@resource-media.org
(206) 374-7795 Ext. 108

 

ActionAid USA

Marie Brill

Marie.Brill@actionaid.org

(202) 370-9923


American Bakers Association

Rasma I. Zvaners

rzvaners@americanbakers.org

(202) 789-0300 Ext. 104

 

Americans for Limited Government

Rebekah Rast

rrast@getliberty.org

(703) 383-0880

 

American Frozen Food Institute

Corey Henry

chenry@affi.com

(703) 821-0770 Ext. 223

 

American Meat Institute

Tom Super 
Tsuper@meatami.com

(202) 587-4235

 

California Dairies, Inc.

Eric Erba

eerba@californiadairies.com

(559) 625-2200 Ext. 114

 

 Clean Air Task Force
Jonathan Lewis
jlewis@catf.us   

(617) 624-0234 Ext. 153

 

Defenders of Wildlife

Allison Barra Srinivas

asrinivas@defenders.org

(202) 772-0252

 

Environmental Working Group

Sara Sciammacco

ssciammacco@ewg.org

(202) 939-9122

 

Friends of the Earth

Kelly Trout

ktrout@foe.org

(202) 222-0722

 

Grocery Manufacturers Association

Ginny Smith
gsmith@gmaonline.org

(202) 295-3937

 

Milk Producers Council
Rob Vandenheuvel 
rob@milkproducers.org
(909) 628-6018

 

National Chicken Council

Richard L. Lobb

rlobb@chickenusa.org
(202) 296-2622 Ext. 119

 

National Council of Chain Restaurants

Craig Shearman

shearmanj@nrf.com

(202) 626-8134

 

National Meat Association

Jeremy Russell

jeremy@nmaonline.org

(510) 763-1533

 

National Restaurant Association

Katie Laning Niebaum

kniebaum@restaurant.org

(202) 973-3967

 

National Wildlife Federation

Julie M. Sibbing

sibbing@nwf.org

(202) 797-6832

 

Natural Resources Defense Council

Suzanne Struglinski

sstruglinski@nrdc.org

(202) 289-2378

 

National Turkey Federation

Sherrie Rosenblatt

srosenblatt@turkeyfed.org 

(202) 898-0100, Ext. 7227

 

Oxfam America

Ben Grossman-Cohen

bgrossman-cohen@oxfamamerica.org

(202) 777-2907

 

Southeast Milk Inc.

Ray Hodge

Sunbeltmilkproducers@rayhodge.org

(407) 257-6782

 

Taxpayers for Common Sense

Stephen Ellis

steve@taxpayer.net

(202) 546-8500 Ext. 126

 

###