NTF Chairman Tells Industry to "Stay the Course" in Building the Turkey Business

October 24, 2012

Sherrie Rosenblatt, National Turkey Federation
202-898-0100 ext. 227, srosenblatt@turkeyfed.org

The National Turkey Federation's (NTF) Board of Directors today elected Pete Rothfork to serve as the federation's 2005 chairman. Rothfork is president and CEO of Rothfork Associates in Melrose, Minn.

During his acceptance speech, Rothfork said, “I believe the turkey industry is moving in the right direction and will continue to be successful if we stay the course. In 2005, NTF will initiate aggressive programs and activities designed to continue to strengthen consumer demand while protecting our industry’s interests with legislators and regulators in Washington.

Rothfork Associates is the live production division of Melrose Feed Mill, Inc. Melrose Feed Mill manufactures 40,000 tons of feed annually. Its affiliates grow 30 million pounds of turkey on eight locations in central Minnesota.

Rothfork Associates owns 25 percent of Turkey Valley Farms LLC, which owns a plant in Marshall, Minn., which is scheduled to open in March 2005.

Rothfork started in the turkey industry in 1970 on his family’s farm. Since May 1988, he has served as president and CEO of Melrose Feed Mill Inc. Since his father’s death in 1992, he has been president and CEO of Rothfork Associates.

Rothfork is past president of the Minnesota Turkey Growers Association and is on the board of the Midwest Poultry Federation.

During Tuesday’s Board meeting at the NTF’s Annual Convention, the Directors also elected Mike Briggs, Willow Brook Foods, as vice chairman; and Ted Seger, Farbest Foods, Inc., as secretary-treasurer. John O’Carroll, Cargill Meat Solutions, assumes the position of immediate past-chairman.

During the convention, the Board also elected Yubert Envia, Foster Farms; and Rich Scalise, ConAgra Refrigerated Foods, to the Executive Committee (EC). Scalise previously served on the EC for a year as an appointed member.

In addition, reelected EC members are Paul Hill, West Liberty Foods; Ron Morris, Pilgrim’s Pride Corporation; Walter “Gator” Pelletier, Goldsboro Milling Company; and Ron Prestage, Prestage Farms.

After the Board meeting, the elected EC members appointed Randy Day, Perdue Farms, Inc.; Richard Huisinga, Willmar Poultry Company, Inc.; and Mike Tolbert, Jennie-O Turkey Store; to fill the at-large positions on the EC.

The National Turkey Federation is the advocate for all segments of the U.S. turkey industry, providing services and conducting activities that increase demand for its member’s products. The federation also protects and enhances its member’s ability to effectively and profitably provide wholesome, high quality, nutritious turkey products.